green bananas.

I had an older customer a few years ago who I had worked with for about an hour to find a perfect recliner for him to spend his days reading, watching tv, and napping. He told me that’s what you do when you’re his age.

He seemed energetic enough. He had thinning silver hair that was combed over, foggy blue eyes, his face was sun spotted and dry, and his cologne was strong and cheap. I asked him near the end of our transaction (as I ask every customer) if he wanted to purchase our five-year protection plan. He looked me at me with a dead pan expression and barked, “Son, I’m 94. I don’t even buy green bananas.”

We laughed.

I wonder how he is today.

IMG_1210

Leave a Reply

