exit.

Somedays, I suffer almost crippling anxiety attacks where I just want to flee a situation. I’m never truly prepared when that happens, but when it does I need some sort of exit immediately. Perhaps a job, a relationship, or an uncomfortable situation. I panic and I literally have to talk to myself to calm down, to breathe deep, to get a drink of water.

Then I’ll look up. Literally or figuratively, and I realize that life is not to be taken so seriously. Sometimes this helps. Sometimes not.

Life’s “exit” comes soon enough. I’m trying to learn to live my life a day at a time… to be in the moment more… and again… to always look up and breathe.

I like this shot because I’m fairly certain that of all the photography thats done at Longwood, that this one is a first. Though I enjoy shooting the beautiful flowers and gardens immensely, I also make it a point to focus on things that most people would miss. Again, I hope I succeeded on that here.
Photo Challenge-Depth

IMG_1007

4 thoughts on “exit.

  1. Laura Gabrielle Feasey February 5, 2015 / 8:37 am

    Really like this photo and its representation for escape. Whether it’s for someone who needs to leave quickly because of a state of anxiety, or just a regular visitor looking for the exit, I bet this has been looked at thousands of times but never photographed, as you say. The vines add a really nice, somewhat metaphorical touch… perhaps in the sense that escape isn’t always so easy… 🙂

    Like

    • Ed Williams February 5, 2015 / 8:42 am

      Thanks for stopping by, Laura, and for getting it and adding some interpretation of your own. Truly appreciated.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Kristina Duffy February 7, 2015 / 8:03 am

    “Smile, breathe and go slowly.”
    ― Thích Nhất Hạnh

    Like

Leave a Reply

