check mate.

As a 10 year old boy, I used to watch older gentlemen play chess (and checkers) at a local playground when I visited my Grandparents. I remember those guys being so focused, squinting as they puffed away on unfiltered cigarettes. It was also such a social experience to see. Especially for a kid who was extremely shy and felt more comfortable just being an observer. No one ever offered to teach me how to check mate. And I never asked.
Until later, in my early teens, as an older neighborhood jock began teaching me how to play the game. One night he also taught me what it was like to play against my will when he silently slipped into my sleeping bag during a rainy backyard sleepover.
Express Yourself

IMG_0930
– winter photo at Goose Creek Park near West Chester, PA.

Leave a Reply

