flagged.

Today is my regularly scheduled day off. It’s still winter. It’s still cold. It’s still windy. I still wanted to go explore with my newest toy. It’s not really my nature to get up and get dressed, and go out into the cold to do this. It’s similar to going to the gym. Especially this time of year. I don’t want to, but usually I feel better when it’s over and done.
I headed to a local suburban “park.” Pretty homogenous place really, but this one was near a creek and I thought I’d get good reflective photos. I didn’t get one decent photo of the creek, but I DID shoot this American flag.
I wanted to see if I could get some light behind it (the sun), and I wanted to see if the wind would pick it up. I got in place (stepping in some day old, still fresh enough dog shit as I did), pointed my camera to the sky, and watched as the gusty wind completely stopped.
Slightly frustrated, I heard my voice say “what the hell,” and I waited. And I waited some more. Tiny breezes made the limp cloth stir a bit. It rolled. It flipped. Then flipped again, as I felt my shit clogged heel slip slightly in the brown grass.
Finally, as I began to shiver from the stillness, the flag began to unfurl and I shot. Shot again. And as anyone who’s had a camera knows, I continued to shoot until I began to feel obsessive.
Two came out to what I thought brought the idea in my head into what I was looking for. I posted them below. I hope you like them.

“America’s history is longer, larger, more various, more beautiful, and more terrible than anything anyone has ever said about it.”
– James Baldwin
Express Yourself

IMG_0927

IMG_0926

3 thoughts on “flagged.

  1. Kristina Duffy February 1, 2015 / 8:14 am

    I love your description of the effort involved in getting the perfect shot that’s in your head! I haven’t done much photography since the weather changed, but I remember being out with my camera last summer and waiting for that perfect shot that I had concocted in my head (the dragonfly landing on the water lily for 2 brief moments, the hummingbird sipping the nectar from the one lone honey suckle flower that I had my camera trained on, the goldfinch feeding on the seeds of the black-eyed susans, etc). I’d sit there for hours in impossible postures, waiting for the perfect shot, and by the time I went inside to load my pictures on the computer I’d have excruciating knots between my shoulder blades, and an average of 150 or so shots to scroll through (yes, I know that obsessive feeling that you alluded to!) only to realize that I had one or two ‘usable’ shots, and still nothing close to what was in my head. You make me want to get back out with my camera, again, but I think I’ll be waiting for warmer temperatures (and maybe a better camera, too)! Keep posting, Ed. We’re all enjoying your pictures and your narratives.

    Like

    • Ed Williams February 1, 2015 / 8:36 am

      LOL, thanks Tina. We need to have an afternoon of wine and cheese tasting while waiting for that perfect shot. It’s ironic (?) how the process simulates life in general. We always seem to be waiting for that perfect moment. Maybe we need to truly look at some of those missed shots a little closer.

      Like

  2. Kristina Duffy February 1, 2015 / 9:26 am

    I totally agree….last summer, the missed shots were a disappointment to me, nothing more. Then, this winter, when I was looking back at them to find some photos to use in a collage project, I recognized the value of each and every one of them. Some were better than I had given them credit for at the time, some were a evidence of my (slow) learning process, and some were beautiful despite their flaws. So very much like the moments in life!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

